Personal tools

Winners of the Norbert Wiener Award for Professional and Social Responsibility

Presented by Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility

Learn about the Wiener Award

1987 - David Parnas
For his work to promote software reliability and his campaign to raise public awareness of the technical infeasibility of the Strategic Defense Initiative.
1988 - Joe Weizenbaum
For his work to promote the human side of his computing, as expressed in his book **Computer Power and Human Reason**.
1989 - Daniel D. McCracken
For his work in the late 1960s to organize computer professionals against the deployment of ABM systems.
1990 - Kristen Nygaard
For his pioneering work in Norway to develop "participatory design," which seeks the direct involvement of workers in the development of the computer-based tools they use.
1991 - Severo Ornstein and Laura Gould
For their tireless energy to guide CPSR through its early years.
1992 - Barbara Simons
For her work on human rights, military funding, and the U.C. Berkeley reentry program for women.
1993 - Institute for Global Communication
For using network technology to empower previously disenfranchised individuals and groups working for progressive change.
1994 - Antonia Stone
For her work in founding the Playing To Win organization, which has brought computer skills to many people who have long been technologically disadvantaged.
1995 - Tom Grundner
For his pioneering work in establishing the Free Net movement, which has provided access to network technology to entire communities who would otherwise be unrepresented.
1996 - Phil Zimmermann
Inventor of Pretty Good Privacy (PGP). PGP allows the average person to encode his or her email. Previously, only governments or large corporations could make their email secure.
1997 - Peter Neumann
Editor of the RISKS Digest, for his outstanding contributions to the field of Risk and Reliability in Computer Science. Read his Notes on Receiving CPSR's Norbert Wiener Award
1998 - The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)
A large open international community of individuals, engaged in the development of new Internet standard specifications, for its tremendously positive technical and other contributions to the evolution and smooth operation of the Internet.
1999 - The Free Software & Open Source Movements
This movement profoundly challenges the belief that market mechanisms are always best-suited for unleashing technological innovation. This voluntary and collaborative model for software development is providing a true alternative to proprietary, closed software.
2000 - Marc Rotenberg
For his ongoing efforts through CPSR and the Electronic Privacy Information Center to protect the loss of public's privacy through technological innovation.
2001 - Nira Schwartz and Theodore Postol
For their courageous efforts to disclose misinformation and falisfied test results of the proposed National Missile Defense system.
2002 - Karl Auerbach
For pioneering democratic Internet governance.
2003 - Mitch Kapor
For being a role model for anyone seeking to succeed in the cut- throat world of high tech business without sacrificing integrity and conscience.
2004 - Barry Steinhardt
For being a prominent advocate for privacy and other civil liberties in the face of technologically-oriented threats.
2005 - Douglas Engelbart
For being a pioneer of human-computer interface technology, inventor of the mouse, and social-impact visionary.
2008 - Bruce Schneier
For his technical achievements and passionate advocacy for privacy, security, and civil liberties.
Created by admin
Last modified January 25, 2008 07:16 PM

Sign up for CPSR announcements emails


International Chapters -

> Canada
> Japan
> Peru
> Spain

USA Chapters -

> Chicago, IL
> Pittsburgh, PA
> San Francisco Bay Area
> Seattle, WA
Why did you join CPSR?

I have been a member for about 14 years, but it seems to me that, given the current state of our nation (and the world), CPSR is needed more than ever to help protect and strengthen democracy and human rights.