Personal tools


CPSR: Norbert Wiener Award Winners

Working Groups
Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility

Winners of the Norbert Wiener Award for
Professional and Social Responsibility
presented by
Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility

Learn about the Wiener Award

1987 - David Parnas

    For his work to promote software reliability and his campaign to raise public awareness of the technical infeasibility of the Strategic Defense Initiative.

1988 - Joe Weizenbaum
    For his work to promote the human side of his computing, as expressed in his book Computer Power and Human Reason. Read Terry Winograd's remarks when presenting the award to Joe Weizenbaum

1989 - Daniel McCracken
    For his work in the late 1960s to organize computer professionals against the deployment of ABM systems.

1990 - Kristen Nygaard

    For his pioneering work in Norway to develop "participatory design," which seeks the direct involvement of workers in the development of the computer-based tools they use.

1991 - Severo Ornstein and Laura Gould
    For their tireless energy to guide CPSR through its early years.

1992 -B arbara Simons
    For her work on human rights, military funding, and the U.C. Berkeley reentry program for women.

1993 - Institute for Global Communication
    For using network technology to empower previously disenfranchised individuals and groups working for progressive change.

1994 - Antonia Stone
    For her work in founding the Playing To Win organization, which has brought computer skills to many people who have long been technologically disadvantaged.

1995 - Tom Grundner
    For his pioneering work in establishing the Free Net movement, which has provided access to network technology to entire communities who would otherwise be unrepresented.

1996 - Phil Zimmermann
    Inventor of Pretty Good Privacy (PGP). PGP allows the average person to encode his or her email. Previously, only governments or large corporations could make their email secure.

1997 - Peter Neumann 1998 - The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)
    A large open international community of individuals, engaged in the development of new Internet standard specifications, for its tremendously positive technical and other contributions to the evolution and smooth operation of the Internet.
1999 - The Free Software & Open Source Movements
    This movement profoundly challenges the belief that market mechanisms are always best-suited for unleashing technological innovation. This voluntary and collaborative model for software development is providing a true alternative to proprietary, closed software.
2000 - Marc Rotenberg
    For his ongoing efforts through CPSR and the Electronic Privacy Information Center to protect the loss of public's privacy through technological innovation.
2001 - Nira Schwartz and Theodore Postol
    For their courageous efforts to disclose misinformation and falisfied test results of the proposed National Missile Defense system.
2002 - Karl Auerbach
    For pioneering democratic Internet governance.
2003 - Mitch Kapor
    For being a role model for anyone seeking to succeed in the cut- throat world of high tech business without sacrificing integrity and conscience.

Updated July 2003, by Susan Evoy.

E-mail with questions or comments.
Archived CPSR Information
Created before October 2004

Sign up for CPSR announcements emails


International Chapters -

> Canada
> Japan
> Peru
> Spain

USA Chapters -

> Chicago, IL
> Pittsburgh, PA
> San Francisco Bay Area
> Seattle, WA
Why did you join CPSR?

I am graduating this year and want to look beyond school to see what the world has to offer.